top of page
  • Writer's pictureFolklore: In Session

Folklore Founder Jacko Hooper's Respair Enters Top 40 of Official Folk Albums Chart

Jacko Hooper with the Top 40 Official Folk Albums Chart logo

Folklore founder and singer-songwriter Jacko Hooper's debut album Respair has entered the Official Folk Albums Chart.

The Official Folk Albums Chart showcases the most popular folk albums of the month based on sales in the UK, encompassing downloads, CDs, vinyl, and other formats, in addition to streaming data. Joining musical heavyweights such as Billie Marten, Lisa O'Neill, Passenger, and Marcus Mumford, Jacko Hooper entered the Official Folk Albums Chart at number 24 with his debut album Respair this month.

Charting postion of Jacko Hooper's debut album Respair in the Official Folk Albums Chart

The album, released via Folklore, brought together a host of Hooper's closest friends and Folklore alumni. Collaborating with notable artists, the record boasts the exceptional talents of Harry Fausing Smith (Tom Misch) on strings and saxophone, Chris Matthewson (Bess Atwell and Growing Boi), a beautiful duet with the incredible Edie Bens (signed to Glassnote Records), and mixing expertise from lifelong friend and collaborator Josh Trinnaman, best known for his work with Luo and mixing credits for artists such as Ry X and Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds.

Respair also features additional vocal contributions from Rebecca Brandler (Our Planet, Paper Hawk), a rhythmic backbone provided by Joe Hall on drums, the melodious trumpet lines from Tommy Peach, and notable appearances from Jordan Smith (The Xcerts), Guy Jones (LibraLibra) and Jack Wintermeyer on the live studio sessions.

Discussing the exciting news, Hooper said: "As an independent solo artist releasing through my own label, this just shows the power of you guys and what having such a loyal and dedicated following can do. I don’t take it for granted at all and just want to say thanks so much to every single person that got the pre-order and made this possible. THANK YOU!"

Described by Clash as "something quite darkly beautiful," Respair is available to buy as a limited edition 12" vinyl through the Folklore shop, with each record printed in a unique original colouring.


Folklore Sessions returns on the 15th August at The Folklore Rooms for the monthly showcase. With music from Soft Top, The Roebucks, and Cormac Nagle.

Doors: 19h30

Free Entry

Folklore Sessions poster for August's showcase. Music from Soft Top, The Roebucks, and Cormac Nagle.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page